My Dream, My House, My Home

All of us… Most of us dream about owning a house in which to make a home. For some this dream might never come true but I would like to think that for most it will.

However rarely does getting a house equal getting our dream house, but once we own the place, we are free to do any necessary changes to make it as close to our ideal house as possible.

We all have different priorities and like different things but most of us would always like to have more space, or at least the illusion of more space.

We belong to this category of people, despite the fact that we are “cave people” (we tend to go out only when we have to and we prefer to organise most of our entertainment with each other be it in front of the TV or with one of our various gaming consoles). That said we do like our cave in an open plan design and houses which open to the outdoors.

We wanted a spacious, well lit house which would give us the feeling of openness and overwhelming freedom, instead we bought a house which had a tiny kitchen and a tiny dining room downstairs…

It was time to get creative!

Behold Mark The Destroyer

Behold Mark The Destroyer

We took down the wall and opened up the downstairs – the change was amazing! No more claustrophobic feelings whilst in the kitchen; the whole kitchen –diner became light and airy… almost perfect.

I say almost, because the next step is to replace our standard double doors leading into the conservatory with some modern sliding doors. The main reason for this is to get rid of the vertical bracing we have at the moment and gain the illusion of more space and even more light. The sliding doors will allow for the use of the space once reserved for the door to open. This is step two in our journey towards our perfect house.

Step three will be doing more or less the same but with the main conservatory doors. We would love to open our house up to the outdoors, create light and the visual illusion that both the indoors and the outdoors are fluidly connected giving us a dream living space. Just because we have a cave doesn’t mean it has to be a dark one!

I think my parents have got it almost right.

Sliding Doors

They have built an outdoor half covered veranda – it has a roof but no walls – it makes a perfect home extension allowing you to enjoy the space come spring and summer. Huge glass sliding doors flood their living room with light and allow you to enjoy a panoramic view without any obstructions.

I hope one day we will be in a position to do the same. We would love to have something like an outdoor living room, where we can spend time during the all to brief warmer months of the year.

For now our limited DIY funds will be going into redecorating one of the bedrooms after the roof leak brought on by our wonderfully wet winter :-(

How are your DIY plans going in 2014?

Are you also on the quest for more space and light?

On a budget also, share the way you achieved your goal with us all.

.

This is a sponsored post.
30 Comments

Filed under What's new

30 responses to “My Dream, My House, My Home

  1. Good luck achieving your dream home! It is so hard now isn’t it with house prices so high. We are moving back to our house soon after 3 years of renting and we are already making plans for what we are going to do!

  2. I would love to take a wall out in our home, but it is not to be, however we did take the doors off between the dining room and lounge

  3. Light is so important isn’t it? We’re renting at the moment, but our home is painted all-white and the back wall is all windows/glass doors – it’s so lovely and light in the Spring/Summer, I love it :)
    Good luck with your decorating projects!

  4. We painted three rooms and re-decorated a bathroom last year so we are having a year off this year! I love the transformation of a space but I do find the work tedious and stressful. I worry whether I have chosen the right colours and I fret over light fittings so much that most of our lights don’t have lampshade as I find the choices too overwhelming! I like your approach of slow and steady, you will get there x

  5. We are very lucky our living room is south facing with a large window. I love the amount of light that we get. Last year we had a window replaced with French doors out onto the garden from it’s amazing the difference it has made. Good luck with your plans.

  6. I like that veranda idea. We have plenty of space but our house isn’t quite “right” yet. I keep tinkering with the easy stuff, moving furniture etc but we couldn’t afford to do anything more just yet.

  7. Always after more space! we have a rented 2bed flat and things keep multiplying and filling the space! I yearn for the day we can buy a house with an attic for storage!

  8. I’d love to do our kitchen this year, as well as redecorate the downstairs living room. I doubt we’ll be able to afford it, but I can dream!

  9. I would dearly love to extend our kitchen space to increase both for space and light. I can dream!

  10. I have a long bucketlist for DIY-disasters. We love our home and I always want a really old house, but after years of neverending work I’m not sure if I would buy it again :o)

  11. We’ve just bought a house. I never imagined we’d ever own a house but we got some luck from somewhere as quite unexpectedly, we inherited enough money to make a cash purchase. We’ve had the keys about 5 weeks so we’re still in the middle of what feels like total chaos but the joy it brings knowing this home totally belongs to us far outweighs all the problems remodeling and decorating are bringing at the moment!
    The purchase of the house took our whole budget so the remodeling and decorating is having to be done very slowly as money becomes available. We’ll get there one day and we’ll be able to sit and relax and breathe a sigh of relief that it’s finally the way we want it!

  12. I would love to change a fair bit about my house to make it my home, and in time we will, good luck on your journey to make your house your home

  13. Open plan is where my heart is calling to too. Great ideas you’ve got there and I’ll pray for you that you get to finish all of your dreams/plans xx

  14. Kizzy Bass

    Looks amazing.

  15. I love what you have done

  16. I’m just hoping to move this year although we won’t be able to do any remodeling.

  17. I love open plan living spaces where all the family can be together even if they are doing different activities. Love the view from your parents sliding doors x

  18. We would love a house with more space but we make do squeezing the 4 of us in our tiny one room wide terrace. We have done quite a lot to it over the years and I have come to understand that even a small house is a bit like the infamous Forth Bridge, there is always something that needs doing. This year we had to redo our little downstairs shower/loo as both were leaking and the whole room was damp and horrible and because this was next to eldest’s bedroom we have decorated her room too. The bathroom was helped a long with some insurance money and savings but the bedroom has just been painted a different colour and by judicious buying of some inexpensive accessories – cheap material, cupboard handles etc it has been transformed on a very low budget.

  19. franglaisemummy

    When we lived in France we had a lovely house that had the same kind of veranda as your parents, it was wonderful to have in the south of France, then we relocated to London and have been renting for the past nearly 4 years, with no sign of buying yet, so I just have fond memories of being a home owner now. Enjoy your DIY plans!

  20. I am just about to move into my first house, which we have bought. We have gone for a new build house, as at the moment with a small child and working, we don’t have time to do DIY. Also, I have never done any DIY before. Whilst this house is new, I’m hoping we can learn some DIY basics that will help us in the future x

  21. We moved house last year and our house is a major project. The house was a care home so includes features such as a fully functioning lift. We will be knocking down a few walls to make our kitchen bigger and lighter, but I don’t know when we’ll start that.

  22. we have big sliding doors in our living room, and i summer they are constantly open bringing outside in, absolutely love them, worth every penny!

  23. Pingback: Goodreads #23 - darktea

  24. No renovations for us this year thankfully, we did an extension last year. Yours sounds like it is going to be fab :)

  25. Sounds like you are very busy! Fingers crossed that your home improvements work out well!

  26. i wish we even could afford to rent a house instead of a flat! hope everything goes well with doing your place up.

  27. I love open plan living, my dream home would have a massive kitchen, dining & living room!

Leave a Reply

