You are what you drink…

We are what we drink

The human body contains anywhere from 50-75% water! The average adult human body is around 50-65% water, when an infant the body has a much higher level, typically around 75%. Amazing isn’t it?

We often hear how important hydration is. It takes only 1% dehydration to already effect our mental and physical coordination, this is happening even before we feel thirsty (this feeling usually kicks in after we have already lost 2-3% of water content). The common sign of dehydration is of course feeling thirsty but there are also other signs like headache, lack of energy or feeling lightheaded… are you experiencing any of them? Go and get a drink before you read any further 🙂

We are told that we should drink a lot of water / fluids to keep our body functions in perfect order. The European Food Safety Authority recommends that women should drink about 1.6 litres of fluid and men should drink about 2.0 litres of fluid per day. That’s about eight 200ml glasses for a woman and 10 200ml glasses for a man. That’s a lot! I must admit I do not drink enough most days and every so often I will promise myself to change… then life takes over and I simply forget… until thirst really kicks in…

So we all know that we have to drink, but what to drink is the other real question.

With 1000s of different drink options on the market these days sometimes it is hard to pick what is really good for us or even which drink can you benefit from the most. There are drinks manufactured especially to target specific needs, drinks without any real benefits but taste good and there is of course the humble water…

Lately I was thinking a lot about drinks and the different options available to us out there. I would like to share with you some of my picks that we have tried and now use.

So, what to drink?

WATER

This is always the best option for replenishing lost fluids in our body. Question is do I drink tap or bottled water? I do not have any strong feelings against bottled water, we do drink tap water in our home. We use bottled water when out and about and there is always some kept in the car… you know, just in case.

FLAVORED WATER – as in water + squash

This is Marks favourite drink – water and usually orange squash. We try to buy squash with no added sugar to reduce sugar intake.

JUICES

We buy quite a lot of juices, but we always read the labels first. 100% real juice with no added sugar is the best option out there. Yes, they do cost more, but our thinking is… better buy less but good quality than more of a poor quality. The same with fruit smoothies, always check the labels… you will be really surprised what is inside some of them.

MILK BASED DRINKS

There is a whole range of milk based drinks out there. We like Frijj 🙂 They do a great selection of flavours and when on special offer I think they represent a good value for money. Their milkshakes are made from skimmed milk which is a plus in my eyes, Mark doesn’t agree being a “proper” milk fan. Other milk based drink I would like to mention is an Activia drinking / pouring yogurt from Danone. They were very helpful, especially in the few last months when Mark was on a soft food / liquid diet.

PROBIOTIC DRINKS

Last year, I believe, there was a lot of talk about probiotic drinks… why? because some companies were claiming benefits which were actually never proven. Probiotic drinks are tiny and cost a lot, but they can be helpful; they can help with gut disorders and inflammatory diseases. We do not buy them very often but when we do we always go for Yakult.

BEAUTY DRINKS

Collagen+ Beauty MilkThis is something new. I’ve just discovered it and it was actually just launched. The Protein Drinks Co. created Collagen+ Beauty Milk 🙂

Collagen+ Beauty Milk has been synergistically formulated to provide health and beauty conscious women (and men) with a convenient way of consuming essential proteins, vitamins and minerals in strawberry milkshake format. Not only does Collagen+ Beauty Milk offer an impressive nutritional profile but it is also enhanced with Hydrolysed Collagen, extensively known for its skin and ‘anti-aging’ effects through acting internally on the dermis, to support skin elasticity, firmness and hydration in order to reduce fine lines and wrinkles. Furthermore, Collagen+ Beauty Milk also includes natural Green Tea extract, known for its antioxidant and metabolism boosting properties along with 100% of your RDA of Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin D3 and Vitamins B3, B6 and B12.*

I received just a few bottles to try it out, so I am unable to say if it works or will provide visible benefits, but it taste great! Again, not the cheapest option (£2 per 200ml bottle) but hey… when it comes to beauty in so many cases, money is no object.

Aloe Vera by TajI have also had the chance to try the new drink by Taj called Aloe Vera. It comes in a range of flavours. I tried the original and the strawberry. I mention these for the reasons that they are again being specifically targeted at a market segment who are interested in healthy drinks. They serve the function of aiding detox routines as well as boosting your general immunity and as if that is not enough they also give you a boost to energy. Made from 40%+ Aloe Vera juice and pulp they of course interested me as you regular blog readers are well aware I am a big fan of Aloe Vera. Please note that Aloe Vera drinks are not suitable if pregnant, lactating or for children under 3.

FIZZY DRINKS

We all drink them and most of us love it! They come in 100s of different flavour combinations and everyone can find something for themselves. But are they good for us? … most likely not. They are full of sugar and contain very few nutrients if any. So what? We will still buy them and drink them… if not an everyday basic, on holidays, when it is hot out there, when we are out and about etc… They are part of our lives, there is no question about it. Worth remembering is that they are not a part of a healthy diet (even the zero sugar versions), so we try to keep them as a treat for odd occasions…

ENERGY DRINKS

Oh, gosh – Red Bull, Tiger, Burn etc – they are a blessing sometimes; full of caffeine which will help you wake up right here, right now. Again, this is something most of us drink from time to time and I do not see anything wrong with it. They are created to help us and as long as they are used in moderation you will be fine. There is also a healthier option if you need a pick me up – Healthspan’s Multivitality Boost, which I featured on my blog earlier on.

SPORT DRINKS

This group is similar to energy drinks but they do serve a slightly different purpose. Sport drinks are supposed to help us quickly replace lost fluids. They are usually rich in carbohydrates – the most efficient long term source of energy. Sports drinks also contain electrolytes (minerals such as chloride, calcium, magnesium, sodium and potassium), which, along with body fluid, diminish as you exercise and sweat. So, I guess if you exercise a lot you will need some of those.

Skinny Water WEIGHT LOSS AID DRINKS

Ok, this is group of drinks I may have made-up but I wanted to tell you about Skinny Water and I wasn’t sure where to put it. Last year I’ve won a lot of Skinny Water… and when I say a lot… I really mean it. I was drinking it for months and months and I felt good… Bio Synergy Skinny Water is a low calorie flavoured water soft drink. Each bottle contains chromium which plays a role in reducing sugar cravings and L-carnitine, which has been the subject of numerous studies regarding speeding up the way the body goes about fat metabolism.

TEA AND COFFEE

……

So what are your drinking habits, and no I don’t mean alcohol 🙂

Have you found a good healthy drink out there you can recommend we try out?

.

I received PR samples of TAJ and Collagen+ Beauty Milk drinks for free for review purpose. All opinions are honest and my own.

Source:
http://chemistry.about.com/od/waterchemistry/f/How-Much-Of-Your-Body-Is-Water.htm
http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/Goodfood/Pages/water-drinks.aspx
http://www.saga.co.uk/health/medicines/probiotics.aspx
*http://www.healthgauge.com/read/collagen-beauty-milk/
http://www.diabetes.co.uk/sports-drinks.html

36 Comments

Filed under Beauty, What's new

36 responses to “You are what you drink…

  1. I drink lots and lots of water, and hot drinks too. I love the sound of the beauty drink and the Aloe Vera drink – would love to give those a whirl 🙂
    Love Vicky
    http://www.aroundandupsidedown.co.uk/

  2. Lately I’ve been trying to drink as much water as I can and it’s really helped, my skin looks great and I feel more alert and awake and when I went away at the weekend I found myself feeling a bit bleugh and I put it down to not having the water that my body’s become used to :-/ xx

  3. I mostly drink water, but I also drink herbal tea at least once a day. I don’t do sugar so soda is out of the question for me.

  4. I’m a fan of Schweppes zero ( more a junkie) :o)

  5. Too much coffee and cola in my case, I try to do better, but generally revert to the caffeine stuff all too quickly!

  6. Sarah

    I drink tea 24/7 I do switch to decaf though after a certain time or if I’m at my parents is decaf all day as my Dad isn’t allowed caffeine at all. x

  7. I am terrible at not drinking enough during the day and your post has just highlighted exactly how bad. *must try harder*

  8. I have never heard of the Beauty drinks. I love Pepsi Max (very bad for me), tea and milkshakes! I’m a fan of Frijj too x

  9. You know I’ve finally managed to make sure I drink enough water and then my boys came home with this information saying that actually milk is better at hydrating because the salts in it stop it just going straight through you!

  10. I’m terrible at keeping myself hydrated, especially in the winter when I survive on a few cups of tea a day!

  11. I have one cup of coffee in the morning and the rest of the day I just drink hot water. I love it!

  12. Where did you get the Aloe drink from? Does it have little cubes of aloe gel in it? I used to love these drinks when I lived in Asia but I have never seen them in the UK.

  13. Oh dear! Great post but I find myself not doing a lot of what I should be doing – like drinking enough water! I shall attempt to change 🙂

  14. winegumsx

    Really interesting post. Drinking way too much energy drinks at the moment – a hazard of night shifts! x

  15. Mainly a cuppa or two (tea, unsweetened) or good old cawfee (very sweetened).

  16. I don’t drink enough water and I keep resolving to do better. I enjoy a couple of cuppa’s a day and tend to drink sparkling water with my meals

  17. I drink a lot of decaff coffee but I really should try and drink water. I hate fizzy drinks, urghhh all the sugar.

  18. i pretty much only drink water and green tea, sometimes fresh juice too. however i do enjoy a can of sprite on rare occasion!

  19. That Collagen Beauty Milk sounds amazing. Did it really taste nice?

    • Actually yes.
      Strong strawberry flavor, but nice… not this fake unreal flavor which can later repeat on you for hours…
      It does taste like milk shake but much more watery in texture, best I can describe it is 0% fat strawberry milk shake…
      Hope this helps 🙂

  20. I’m a bit of a fiend for sparkling water or zero drinks – Lilt is a particular favourite at the moment.

    Oh.. and coffee… have to have the cup a day.

  21. My nose almost bled because of the heat wave and I knew it was my body telling me to chug more water! So yeah, my good healthy drink is plain old water hahaha

  22. I really dislike energy drinks. I drink black tea with soya milk, water and the occasional bottle of cola, although I try to keep it to a minimum. I drink aloe sometimes when my IBS flairs and it does seem to help. Drinking collagen sounds weird but if it’s good for you then I’d be interested to try it.

  23. I got an additional information that the amount of water the body needs doesn’t only comes from drink. 😀 Soups, fruits, anything that has water in it also counted in in the daily need. I do try to drink as much water as I can, though. I don’t drink soda very much because I think they’re harsh to our digestive system (this is my opinion) and also high in sugar. So I only drink them once every 2 months or after I eat greasy food (I imagine they take all the oils and fats away LOL)
    I love tea but they can make my teeth yellow, so I try to use a straw everytime.I don’t like aloe vera, I don’t know why hehe. Probiotic drinks are my fav! ^_^

  24. I love my milk but I do have to have a good nice coffee in the morning .x

  25. I am terrible at not drinking enough water. my doctor always always ask me to intaken much water but i always failed :(now your post has just made me realized exactly how bad. i will try harder now 🙂

  26. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put
    in writing this blog. I am hoping to check out the sake high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get
    myy very own website noow 😉

Leave a comment