What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Jam Wafers

what’s cooking – my chocolate and jam wafer

This is a recipe from my childhood. Every family gathering my auntie would indulge us with her famous Chocolate and Jam Wafers. It’s weird but at the time I never asked her for the recipe and thus never attempted to make them… That is until a few months back. As I do not live in Poland any more I don’t have a lot of occasions for tasting her wafers so I thought it was time for me to start making them myself.

So here it is – Chocolate and Jam Wafers – just as I remember them from my childhood.

What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Jam Wafers - Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack of dry wafer sheets*
  • 250g unsalted butter
  • 200g sugar
  • 200g powdered milk
  • 5tbs cocoa powder
  • 125ml water
  • ½ jar of jam**

*This might not be so easy to find but if you have a Polish shop close by I am sure they will stock it, they are called “Andruty”. They come in packs of five and are just large wafer sheets rather like pasta sheets, but bigger.

**Ideally you need a jam which isn’t too sweet. The idea is to break the sweetness of the chocolate. I used a Morello Cherry Jam from Mackays and it worked perfectly. You can find it in your local Asda store.

Method:

In a cooking pot melt the butter.

Once your butter has melted and started to foam add water, sugar and cocoa powder (to make your chocolate mix more luxurious you can add some chocolate shavings), stir well and bring it to boil.

What’s Cooking - Chocolate and Jam Wafers

Put aside and allow it to cool for a while.

Once your mixture is hand warm, add the powdered milk into it and stir well. Ideally you want to get rid of any “chunks” of milk powder so whisk well. You are aiming for a smooth and bits free mixture.

At this point your mixture should be ready so all you have left to do is to put it all together.

What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Jam Wafers

If you look at the above picture, you will see two different textures of your wafer sheet. It is important to place the side with bigger holes facing upwards. This way more mixture will get into holes making your creation perfectly moist and yummy.

So let’s build!

Take sheet one of your wafers and place big holes uppermost.

What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Jam Wafers.

We will start with a layer of jam. Spread the jam around ensuring that you are going to the very edge of the wafer. Do not leave any dry or uncovered spaces. Concurrently don’t layer it on too thickly or the finished result will be very sweet and maybe sickly. You are aiming for a nice thin even layer.

What’s Cooking –- Chocolate and Jam Wafers

Once this is done, place the second piece of wafer on top of your jam layer, still remembering to place it big holes up.

What’s Cooking -- Chocolate and Jam Wafers

Cover with your chocolate mixture to the same extent you did with the jam.

Repeat this layering process with the chocolate until you are left with just one dry piece of wafer.

The last piece goes other way around – meaning the large holes will go face down and touch the chocolate layer, giving us a nice and even finish on both sides of the wafer.

What’s Cooking  Chocolate and Jam WafersWhat’s Cooking --- Chocolate and Jam Wafers

Now comes a very important part. You have to turn your creation upside down. This will allow the jam and chocolate fillings to seep into and coat each neighbouring wafer sheet. Turn it upside down and place something big flat and heavy on top. Just make sure that whatever you place is at least the size of the waffle itself so it will weight down evenly, we have found a couple of cookbooks do the trick lovely.

Leave for few hours. If you have a space in the fridge, you can place it in the fridge, but it is not essential.

After a few hours when all the filling has had time to spread evenly, you are ready to cut your wafer into your desired shape and portions.

What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Mackays Jam Wafers

Ideally for cutting you want to use a large and very sharp knife. If your knife gets dirty, wipe it clean before you cut the next piece.

Place your wafer in an airtight container so it can stay fresh for longer. Again, if you have space in the fridge then pop hem in there for storage however it can live on the kitchen top just as well.

What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Jam Wafers!

I like just a wafer on its own but Mark thinks that it is a perfect companion to be served with ice-creams 🙂

So what do you think?

Would this creation appeal to you?

32 Comments

Filed under What's cooking

32 responses to “What’s Cooking – Chocolate and Jam Wafers

  1. Oh my goodness, how simply yummy this looks! Child friendly too (to both make and eat!). Thank you xx

  2. I’ll bet you did lots of finger licking when making these delicious treats. Can I come over and taste them?

  3. teentweentoddler1

    I think my children would love these! I might try and give them a go x

  4. I loved this wafers as I was a child, they sold the broken wafers in big bags for a small amount and I couldn’t stop till the bag was empty :o)

  5. I loved wafers as a kid too! These look really good and I have to agree that serving them with ice cream would be a delectable treat!

  6. would make a great treat for a kids party!

  7. What a unique treat! I never would have though of it. It looks great.

  8. these look amazing. I always love these types of recipes but i could never make these! lol Thanks for the share!

  9. Bradley Finnearty

    I don’t know if I could stop eating. I have deep love for chocolate and wafers. Thanks for the recipe.

  10. My boys would love these. I need to find those wafers and yes I agree with your fella that perfect with ice cream too

  11. Looks so yummy! What a unique and simple treat.

  12. Oh these look awesome! I would want to add a layer of peanut butter hehe kinda like a sandwich with wafers instead of bread. 🙂

  13. Shasta

    Those looks so incredibly good! I’m going to have to make these asap!

  14. fromthegardentable

    These look delicious and I have lots of leftover homemade jam to use!

  15. I’ve never seen those wafers before but must look out for them. This would be such a great thing for the children to make.

  16. The are so pretty! I bet they are delicious too! I haven’t eaten a wafer in forever and now I’m really wanting one. 🙂 I’ll have to try your recipe for the family this weekend. Thanks

  17. What a delicious idea! I usually just buy waffles from the supermarket with the filling they have. The unfilled waffles are really hard to find.

  18. I will be doing this with the grand-kids shortly, they just look so amazing, thanks for sharing.

  19. I love strawberry & vanilla remb the ones that came in the pack? Mom used to put them in my lunch lol I don’t like PB&J but this took me back :))

  20. Awesome! I love this recipe using chocolate and jam in Wafer sheets, I need to try this recipe, it looks realy easy

  21. They look pretty and sound delicious1

  22. Are they postable? They look divine x

  23. These look delicious! I’d love to give this a go myself.

  24. I don’t think I’ve seen plain, unfilled wafers in the supermarket – but perhaps I wasn’t really looking for them. These look great and I know my two little ones would devour them!

  25. VaiChin

    I could eat the whole stack! Looks delicious.

  26. My son would love this! I grew up loving wafers..

  27. Wow – these look amazing

  28. These look so yummy, I never would have thought about making something like this before!

    Sara | This Girl Loves

  29. This looks awesome! Gosh I am feeling super hungry right now. Thanks for sharing the recipe though, gonna have to give it a try soon 🙂

  30. Hey never thought about a home made one………. this looks yummy ! Think my kids will love it………. GigLove

Leave a comment